Material and recordings from 32nd MAX IV User Meeting

In this page you find speakers material and the webinar recordings from the  32nd MAX IV User Meeting 2020 & 2030, which was help on 28, 29 September 2020.

Handouts and other relevant material

Coherent opportunities in MAX IV: An update
Web site with the session program, speakers handouts and other relevant material.


News from the MX beamlines: the fragment screening facility FragMAX, news and plans for BioMAX and status of MicroMAX
FragMAX. Fragment Screening Platform at BioMAX handouts.

Meeting webinar recordings

Beamline videos

Video presentations from MAX IV staff presented at the User Meeting. For a recording of the entire session including Q&A, see the Beamline Updates recordings further below.

Opening Session, Monday 28 September

In this opening session, Ian McNulty, director of MAX IV, presents the facility update. Then, Pedro Fernandes Tavares, Accelerators director, presents the accelerators update. Finally, Jonas Weissenrieder introduces all members of the FASM group, Association for Synchrotron Radiation Users at MAX IV.

Beamline Updates session, Monday 28 September

In this session, video presentation recorded at the beamlines are shown. In between the five groups of videos, beamline scientists engage in Q&A sessions.
Link not available.

Science Highlights session, Tuesday 29 September

In this morning session from the second day of the MAX IV 32nd User Meeting, researchers from different institutions and companies present projects including data collected at MAX IV Laboratory. The session opens with the presentation by the MAX IV PhD Thesis Award 2020 winner, and closes with the presentation by the MAX IV Student Science Award 2020 winner.
Chairs of the session: Marjolein Thunnissen, Life Science Director at MAX IV Laboraotry, and Conny Såthe, Interim Physical Sciences Director at MAX IV Laboratory.

Part 1:

  • Jalil Shah – MAX IV PhD Thesis Award 2020 – Linköping University, Sweden.
    “Experimental evidence of monolayer arsenene: an exotic 2D semiconducting material”.
    Beamline used: BLOCH.
  • Jianwu Sun – Linköping University, Sweden.
    “Epitaxial Growth and Tuning of Graphene on off-axis 3C-SiC for Solar-driven CO2 Conversion”.
    Beamline used: MAXPEEM.
  • Ivar Kuusik – University of Tartu, Estonia.
    “Photoemission and ab initio study of ionic liquids: valence electronic structure”.
    Beamline used: FinEstBeAMS.
  • James O’Shea – University of Nottingham, United Kingdom.
    “Electronic and chemical coupling in dye-sensitised mesoporous oxides”.
    Beamline used: FlexPES.


Part 2:

  • Kees-Jan Weststrate – SynCat@DIFFER, The Netherlands.
    “Using high resolution XPS at near-ambient pressures to resolve mechanistic issues in cobalt-catalyzed Fischer-Tropsch synthesis”.
    Beamline used: HIPPIE
  • Sonka Reimers – University of Nottingham, United Kingdom.
    “Defects and domains in antiferromagnetic CuMnAs microstructures”, Beamline used:: NanoMAX
  • David Tezé – The Novo NordiskCenter for Biosustainability and DTU Bioengineering, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark.
    “An α-Retaining and β-Inverting glycoside hydrolase from the human symbiont Akkermansia muciniphila: structure and mechanism”
    Beamline used: BioMAX
  • Smita Ganguly – MAX IV Student Science Award 2020 – Lund University, Sweden
    “Photodissociation of carbon dioxide clusters”


Students Science Clips session, Tuesday 29 September

In this session, Ian McNulty, director of MAX IV, presents science clips prepared by six PhD students.

Closing session, Tuesday 29 September

The closing session of this 32nd User Meeting is focused on the theme: MAX IV in the next decade, where MAX IV will be in ten years. Chair of the session is Aleksandar Matic, Professor in Materials Physics and Head of Division at Chalmers University of Technology.
The first part of the session is centred on two keynote lectures to inspire and give examples on how to tackle scientific challenges for large synchrotron facilities. The keynote speakers are Alexander Balatsky, professor at the Nordic Institute of Theoretical Physics and University of Connecticut, and doctor Harald Reichert, Director of Research in Physical Sciences at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF).
The second part of the session is a panel discussion with Ian McNulty, Director of MAX IV, Stacey Sörensen, professor in Synchrotron radiation physics at Lund University and pro-vice chancellor for research, Lars Kloo, Head of Applied Physical Chemistry at KTH, Alexander Balatsky, Harald Reichert, and Aleksandar Matic.