Complete program with plenary sessions, speakers, talks, parallel ´breakout´sessions, chairs, panels, links to the various virtual meeting and other complementary information.

A simplified version containing only all the links to the different zoom meetings is here.

Tuesday, 29 September

Web Lounge registration. Read more about the Web Lounge

Zoom webinar – Day two

Science Highlights

09:00 – 12:00

Science Highlights. Research from Users and awards winners with Q/A
The MAX IV beamline providing beamtime for the carried research is noted as [Beamline]


Chair: Science directors: Marjolein Thunnissen, Conny Såthe










Jalil Shah – MAX IV PhD Thesis Award 2020
“Experimental evidence of monolayer arsenene: an exotic 2D semiconducting material”, [BLOCH]
Linköping University, Sweden.










Jianwu Sun
“Epitaxial Growth and Tuning of Graphene on off-axis 3C-SiC for Solar-driven CO2 Conversion”, [MAXPEEM]
Linköping University, Sweden.










Ivar Kuusik
“Photoemission and ab initio study of ionic liquids: valence electronic structure”, [FinEstBeAMS]
University of Tartu, Estonia.







James O’Shea
“Electronic and chemical coupling in dye-sensitised mesoporous oxides”, [FlexPES]
University of Nottingham, United Kingdom.


Short break










Kees-Jan Weststrate
“Using high resolution XPS at near-ambient pressures to resolve mechanistic issues in cobalt-catalyzed Fischer-Tropsch synthesis”, [HIPPIE]
SynCat@DIFFER, The Netherlands.










Sonka Reimers
“Defects and domains in antiferromagnetic CuMnAs microstructures”, [NanoMAX]
University of Nottingham, United Kingdom.













David Tezé
“An α-Retaining and β-Inverting glycoside hydrolase from the human symbiont Akkermansia muciniphila: structure and mechanism”.  [BioMAX]
The Novo NordiskCenter for Biosustainability and DTU Bioengineering, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark.







Smita Ganguly – MAX IV Student Science Award 2020
“Photodissociation of carbon dioxide clusters”
Lund University, Sweden


Lunch break

12:00 – 13:00

MAX IV 2020 to 2030

13:00 – 15:30

The 2020 MAX IV 16 beamlines portfolio was conceived and driven with the impetus of the user community and their visions. From experience we know that a 10 year perspective is a reasonable time frame to go from vision to reality. This requires involvement from experienced synchrotron light users but also broadening our community to new science and to reach students and young researchers who will become our future scientists.

Where are we and where we want to go? Which developments and beamlines, emerging science areas and technologies are necessary to fulfill your needs and reach your vision for MAX IV in 2030?.


MAX IV Students Science Clips 2020

13:00 – 13:45

Chair: Ian McNulty, MAX IV Director


Lert Chayanun
“Direct 3D imaging of an X-ray nanofocus using a single 60 nm-diameter nanowire device”
Synchrotron radiation research, Lund University

Monika Bjelčić
“Oxygen-free fixed target SSX with hemoglobin”
Max IV Laboratory

Tobias Tandrup
“Lytic polysaccharide monooxygenase interaction with substrate”
University of Copenhagen, Department of Chemistry

Qinda Guo
“Investigation on the polaron feature in electron-doped cuprate”
KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Kamal Raj R
“Surface adsorption of a model atmospheric organosulfate studied directly with synchrotron radiation based XPS on a micro-jet”
University of Oulu

Mikkel Herzberg
“An essential – yet unexplored – ingredient in drug tablets: Magnesium Stearate”
University of Copenhagen, Department of Pharmacy



13:45 – 14:45



Aleksandar Matic, CHALMERS










Alexander Balatsky

“Hidden quantum orders and missing probes”
NORDITA, Nordic Countries and University of Connecticut, USA

I will discuss challenges and recent theoretical and experimental progress in identifying the dynamic and entangled orders in quantum materials. As a simple, yet new case I will mention the phenomenon of dynamic multiferroicity in STO under Thz pulse.  I also will comment on the challenge of detection of quantum hidden orders that require multimode quantum probes. I invite the conversation on the feasibility of multimode probes at light sources.









Harald Reichert
“Building a Science Case for the ESRF-EBS and Implementing it”
Director of research at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF), France



Panel discussion and open forum

14:45 – 15:30


Moderator: Aleksandar Matic, CHALMERS


  • Stacey Sörensen, Lunds University
  • Harald Reichert, ESRF
  • Alexander Balatsky, NORDITA / UCONN
  • Lars Kloo, KTH & VR
  • Ian McNulty, MAX IV